The Firstfruits Of Them That Slept

from 7.99

An Easter Cantata for Soloists (mezzo, tenor, baritone), Choir, and Small Orchestra. BSM0037.

Duration: 25:00

English Text, from the Holy Scriptures and the Hymns of Phyllis Wocher and Douglas Pew.

Commissioned by St. Thomas Episcopal Parish Choir and the Cincinnati Bach Ensemble.

Carlton Monroe, conductor.

Available materials:
Add Digital Score to Cart
  1. CHORUS: Salvation Dawned on Easter Morn
  2. RECITATIVE (Baritone): And thus we see that all mankind were fallen
  3. ARIA (Alto): Surely he hath borne our griefs
  4. HYMN: What Cost, What Price, What Debt We Owe
  5. SCENE (Alto, Tenor, Baritone, Choir): The first day of the week cometh Mary Magdalene early
  6. CHORUS: I know that my Redeemer liveth
  7. RECITATIVE (Tenor): And now if Christ had not come into the world
  8. HYMN: Hosannas to our God we sing


The Firstfruits Of Them That Slept is an Easter Cantata commissioned to be paired with Cantata BWV 67 by Johann Sebastian Bach. The text of the cantata traces the drama from the sorrowful days after the Crucifixion of Jesus Christ, through the scene at the tomb on Easter morning, to the reflections and declarations of the Apostles and Disciples as they witness the miraculous Resurrection.