Surely He Hath Borne Our Griefs

from 2.99

Mezzo-Soprano, Oboe, and Organ. BSM0037c.

Duration: 5:00

English Text, Isaiah 53:4-5

From the Easter Cantata The Firstfruits of Them That Slept.

Commissioned by St. Thomas Episcopal Church Parish Choir and Cincinnati Bach Ensemble.

Carlton Monroe, conductor. Kate Tombaugh, mezzo soprano.

Available materials:
Add Digital Score to Cart


This setting of Isaiah's sorrowful text is portrayed as a lament sung by Mary Magdalene at the garden tomb on the first Easter morning. Over a ground bass, the mezzo soprano and solo oboe entone longing and mournful lyrical lines with lacrimose emotion.